About Us

The Percy R. Johnson Burn Foundation is a private, not for profit organization seeking to ensure the availability of a comprehensive program of services for burn patients and the families of burn patients receiving treatment in the Shreveport-Bossier City area. The Burn Foundation helps sponsor these programs including the annual Camp I'm Still Me for young burn survivors from the states of Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas, Mississippi, and Oklahoma. The Burn Foundation has purchased a house where families of burn survivors who require extensive treatment in the LSUHSC Regional Burn Center may stay while their loved ones are in the LSUHSC Burn Center's intensive care unit.

The Foundation was established in 1985 by former burn patients and local health care professionals involved in burn care. It was named in honor of Captain Percy R. Johnson, a Shreveport fire fighter who lost his life in the line of duty. For burn patients, physical care is only the first step in an often long and difficult recovery. The Burn Foundation needs the financial assistance and personal support of area individuals, civic organizations, businesses, and foundations to ensure that burn survivors have access to the full range of services and support required for optimal recovery. Gifts to the Burn Foundation are tax deductible and are used to establish and maintain local programs and services to help meet patient and family needs. These programs include Camp I.S.M. and the Chaler-Rods House for families of burn survivors as well as to help furnish needed medical supplies, equipment, and physical rehabilitation for the patients after they leave the hospital.

Our Director, Dr. Kevin Sittig
Dr. Sittig
Click here to read about our Director

Members of The Foundation In Alphabetical Order

Abney, Shannon, OT
Armstrong, Susan, MSN, MBA, JD - Foundation Legal Consultant
Chaler, Boo - Burn Survivor
Chaler, Patsy
Earnest, Bob, CPA
Fuselier, Peggy - Foundation Secretary
Fuselier Pierce, Stacy
Hilliard, John
Hilliard, Mary
Johnson, J. Patrick - Co-founder, Burn Survivor. Was a partner of Percy R. Johnson
Leeper, Heath, RN - Burn Survivor
Macy, Debbie
Parks, Jo Ann
Parks, Larry - Burn Survivor
Richardson, Dr. Kathryn - Assistant to Dr. Sittig
Saulsbery, Carla, OT - Foundation Treasurer
Sittig, Dr. Kevin - Foundation Director, Medical Director of LSUHSC Burn Unit
Sullivan, Terrie, RN - Camp Director
Watts, Mike, RN - Nursing Director, LSUHSC Burn Unit
Wiggins, Amy


or contact us at: 
 Percy R. Johnson Burn Foundation
 1501 Kings Highway
 P. O. Box 610-618
 Shreveport, LA 71130-3932

Please help us help them! You'll be glad you did.